We are officially at the six month mark in this pregnancy. Roughly 93 days until we meet Baby Vigneault. We are extremely excited to meet her and cannot wait some days — 93 days feels like a long time but as with everything, we’re sure the time will pass quickly.

Physically I feel great.  I am often surprised that I am not more sore, achy, and uncomfortable. There are definitely times when I roll over at night and grunt. The belly complicates some situations but overall, I am feeling very lucky. I have been keeping busy with prenatal yoga on Monday and Wednesday nights which I cannot recommend enough to pregnant friends. It is a life saver on my back and hips, and it makes me feel like I’m getting out and doing what’s best for me and the baby.  I am finally seeing some weight gain. Due to some major nausea and vomiting at the start of the pregnancy, I lost about 10 pounds in my first trimester and start of the second. Now that I’m at 24 weeks, I’ve returned to my pre-pregnancy weight and gained about 3 pounds.  Our doctor tells us that the baby is about 1 lb. 4 oz. so I am comfortable seeing the scale climb. As long as she’s doing well, I’m fine with my body doing what it needs to do.

For comparison, here I am at 20 weeks:

And here I am at 24 weeks:

We’ve had a lot of changes to make around the house. What was our office will be her nursery. When we set up the office last year, we painted the walls and the base boards but left the closet untouched and knew we wanted to return to paint the ceiling and install shoe molding at a later date. Now is that time! So far, we’ve cleaned out the room of office furniture, painted the ceiling, sanded the door trim for a new coat of paint, painted the new shoe molding, ripped out the closet shelving, painted the closet, and installed a new modular closet system. The closet was a huge job because it’s a very odd shape and part of it is over our stairs so it’s tough to get to. The end result with the modular system installed is that we now have over four times more storage space. What girl won’t love that?

Left to do on the nursery: install the shoe molding, paint the trim around the window and doors, touch up a few places on the walls where we removed shelving, and give the ceiling one more coat of flat white paint. (It’s worth noting that EVERY ceiling and wall in our house was high gloss white when we moved in. So in addition to all the renovations we’ve taken on, there’s always the job of removing all the gloss everywhere else. This is the first room with a flat ceiling and I am very jealous of her. No shiny ceiling spots!) Once the bulk of the messy work is done in the nursery, we can move all of her new stuff in. She has a new crib, mattress, carpet, and artwork waiting to go in. I can’t wait to see it all together. And of course, I can’t wait to see her in her room!

