My grandfather painted this in 1969. It astonishes me that he created this 13 years before I was born and yet it is something I might pick out and buy for my house today.

He was 42 when he created this. I picture him escaping to his basement workshop to relax and paint while his wife and four daughters buzz around the house upstairs.  I wonder if he had a picture of a classic New England farm that he used as a starting point, or if he envisioned this and brought it to life on canvas?

I recently bought the light blue mat and stainless frame and immediately hung it in my bedroom.  It needs to be moved up on the wall to separate it from the shelf and obviously my photography skills need vast improvement, but it takes my breath away.

My 42-year-old grandfather created this for the 28-year-old me. I love it.

