I often sleep in 4 hour increments.  10 pm to 2 am. 3 am to 7 am.  In the middle of the night, I do random things like load the dishwasher, catch up on email, blog reading, facebook, or tivo.  I like this hour because I get extra time to myself in the quiet of the early morning.

Last week, I woke up around 2 and Kevin wasn’t beside me. This isn’t abnormal. Kevin is up that late in the living room all the time.  I called out for him, no answer.  I put on my glasses and headed out into the living room, expecting to find him asleep on the couch with his laptop on his chest.

No Kevin in the living room. I stepped back into the bedroom, did I miss him in the mass of kitty bite protective shields blankets in the bed? I flipped on the bedroom light. No Kevin.  Sadly, after you have checked the living room and the bedroom, you have exhausted all locations to look for humans in our apartment.

I checked the front door, did he actually come home last night? It was 2 am, maybe I wasn’t remembering correctly and this was the night he decided to work until 4 am at the office (has happened).  Front door locked, Kevin’s keys hanging on the nail.  What the? The dishwasher was open, which is something you definitely don’t do when you have a kitten. I peeked over the kitchen island fully expecting to see Kevin splayed out on the kitchen floor Law & Order style.  Then I heard it.  The porch door.

The reflection from the kitchen light made it impossible for me to see out through the glass door.  It was pitch black.  But someone was opening the porch door! at 2 am!

I screamed.  And then he screamed.  He as in Kevin.

“You scared me!” I shouted.  “And you scared me!” he said “what are you doing up at this hour?”  Um, seriously?  What in the choice words was he doing on the porch at 2 am?

cilantro

Oh, well the cilantro we’re growing, it needed straightening.  He was loading the dishwasher, opened the back door to put a can in the recycling bin, and saw that the cilantro was all clumped together from monsoon season.  And clearly, there is no better time than the present!

I will never be bored with Kevin.

